The support forum is temporarily read-only. For urgent requests, please email contact[at]psyberia.net

track recorder records points even if it is no move

Something wrong? Report it here
Post Reply
ydespond
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:06 pm

track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by ydespond »

With the new 2.3.6 version, the track recorder records points even if it is no move.

The option to skip location if no move has disapeared.
Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 6407
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by Psyberia-Support »

Hi,
This detection has been improved and is now done when you stop the track recorder. It's always active, this is why the setting is not here any more.
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !
ydespond
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by ydespond »

Thank you for the answer.

I recorded a track and exported it to GPX. I can see that the file contains many points with exactly the same coordinates. This was not the case with previous version.

The track file is attached to this message.
Attachments
track_20230907_094309_yves_baule.gpx
(1.36 MiB) Downloaded 1060 times
Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 6407
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by Psyberia-Support »

Yes absolutely, in fact when the app detects that the user is not moving (or very little), it will put the points on the same locations instead of simply deleting them.
When locations are removed, a lot of data is lost (including battery level, network strength, ambient pressure).
I now realize that my previous answer was misleading, so to be more precise the app still detects when user is standing still, but those locations are gathered together instead of simply be deleted.
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !
ydespond
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by ydespond »

Thank you, it is clear.

I use the GPX file and the other datas are not in it. In this case many identical points are not very usefull. I use use a modified version of jachetto software to convert from TRK to GPX and i will be able to suppress identical points during the conversion. It seems that the format of the TRK file as changed with the last version of AQ, could you please update the description.
Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 6407
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by Psyberia-Support »

As far as I know the script is up to date with the latest file specifications.
Let me know if you have any trouble.
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !
ydespond
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by ydespond »

Thank you for the answer.
Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 6407
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: track recorder records points even if it is no move

Post by Psyberia-Support »

By the way, in the next update there will be a new user setting that will make the app do delete those locations instead of gathering them.
This way you'll have the same behavior as before.
This user setting will be:

Code: Select all

agent.track_recorder.delete_static_locations=1
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !
Post Reply