[closed] Stop recording track

You can tell us what you like or don't like in AlpineQuest, and what you would like to see in future releases.
veszike
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:08 am

[closed] Stop recording track

Post by veszike » Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:25 am

I am a new user. I do not have experience with the old UI. But I have question about how to use the UI:
How to stop the tracker? I found the pause, which is very usefull. I stopped it by pause+export+clear. Is it the way?
A Stop and Save possibility whould be useful.
Best regards

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4943
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Stop recording track

Post by Psyberia-Support » Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:08 pm

Hi and thanks for your feedback.
Yes you did it right.
The 'Paused' state in fact stands for 'Stopped but with some data recorded that can be resumed'.
To stop it, you just need to clear that data (after exporting it if needed of course).
A new action combining both (as you suggest) could be good, but I would rather call it 'Export and clear' or 'Export and stop' and allow it while tracker is paused. What do you think?
Best regards
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

veszike
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:08 am

Re: Stop recording track

Post by veszike » Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:50 am

Thank you for your reply. I like this application!
I can accept your suggestion.
Other questions:
In the list of the lendmarks gpx file, can be a yellow dot on the icon(s). What is the meaning?
Is it possible to display more saved tracks?
Best regards

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4943
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Stop recording track

Post by Psyberia-Support » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:53 pm

Hi again,
I have added this option in version 1.2.3 which is to be released.

Concerning your other questions:
- The yellow dot on a GPX file means that the file has been loaded in memory (ie you already browse it). If you open it once again, it won't be parsed again from the SD card. Sometime after that, if the application needs more memory, it can be unloaded and the yellow dot will disappear. It's not a really important information and that's true I never talked about it.

- It's not possible to select more that one list at a time right now (a list is a track, a route or a set of waypoints). It's one of the next features to come cause it's really missing. First devices were light in memory but with newer ones a lot of tracks can be loaded before running out of memory, so this feature really makes sense.

Best regards
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

prop
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Stop recording track

Post by prop » Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:40 am

veszike wrote:I am a new user. I do not have experience with the old UI. But I have question about how to use the UI:
How to stop the tracker? I found the pause, which is very usefull. I stopped it by pause+export+clear. Is it the way?
A Stop and Save possibility whould be useful.
Best regards
Hi I am using 1.2.2
I have done a test track and it works fine, I want to clear this test tarck.
I cant find a way on the menus to pause+export+clear. How do I do this., is it an offline function?

Paul

prop
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Stop recording track

Post by prop » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:20 am

Hi I have found how to do stop and export and it works well.

This software works really well but one criticism I have is the lack of documentation, it has taken me 3 attempts and a couple of hours to find this function where as I should just be able to look up how to do it in an instruction manual.

Paul

saturnreturn
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:17 pm

Re: Stop recording track

Post by saturnreturn » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:18 pm

I was trying to find out how to save the current track and found the answer in this thread. I think the only reason I didn't work it out myself was because I thought the button with the "export and clear" options was just an icon rather than a button. Maybe it could be made to have round corners like the other buttons in the program?

One extra thing that might be nice is when you press "export and clear" it gives you the opportunity to type in a file name rather than just saving with timestamp? The text box could be pre-populated with the timestamp so that you can just press ok if you don't want to think of a filename?

Fantastic app though, I really like the way the controls work, it feels efficient to use.

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4943
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Stop recording track

Post by Psyberia-Support » Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:31 pm

Hi,
Thanks for your feedbacks.
Your idea concerning the export of the track is very interesting and I'll add this opportunity. I'll also try to make the button more clear.
Thanks a lot
Best regards
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Lope

Re: Stop recording track

Post by Lope » Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:39 am

Hello,

I have a problem wirh this feature. The last saturday I recorded a track, and at the end of the trip I paused the tracker. The problem is that right now I´m trying to export to gpx format and, it seems that the track has been deleted. And I´m sure that I haven´t delete it. Any suggestion?

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4943
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Stop recording track

Post by Psyberia-Support » Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:58 pm

Hi Lope.
Once exported, the track data is cleared (that's the default behavior).
If you did so your track should have been exported as a GPX file on your SD card (you can check it using the Landmarks Explorer).
If the data has been deleted, there is unfortunately no way to get it back.
Let me know if you found it.
Best regards
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Post Reply